Avoiding the Ecard.EXE Virus

Common Sense Can Keep You Safe

G. Keith Evans
A malicious new virus has been circulating the Internet recently, trying to sneak into your computer's back door by posing as a friendly greeting from a loved one. As Americans celebrate Independence Day and others throughout the world are on edge over recent terrorist activity, the temptation to have our hearts touched by those close to us can be overwhelming. When opening e-cards, though, use common sense and protect yourself from this dangerous new virus.

The SPAM email looks innocent enough. With a common-looking subject line such as, "You've received an e-card from a family member!" and an apparent well-known sender (such as e-card giants AmericanGreetings.com, BlueMountain.com and Hallmark.com), it's easy to fall victim to opening up the email.

Fortunately, this virus requires you to do a little more than open the email in order to download the harmful virus software. This step is where common sense plays a factor:

First and foremost, if you ever receive an email like the one described above, DO NOT click the link! HTML links are very easily masked to resemble reputable companies. Hovering your mouse on the link, though, will show you that the link actually points to someone's IP address- likely somewhere overseas and out of American jurisdiction- instead of to the company where the e-card supposedly originated. Never clicking on links in unsolicited emails is the first rule of keeping your computer safe. If you absolutely must know if the link is valid, highlight the link, copy it and paste it directly into your browser's address bar.

After following that general rule, here are a few more common-sense guidelines which, if followed, can keep your computer safe:

Telltale warning signs:
--The subject line says, "a family member" instead of a specific person's name. If someone had actually sent you a card, the system would know their name and would list it instead of a generic term.

--As mentioned above, the hyperlink may have an IP address instead of a domain name. If the link were legitimate, it would start with http://www.americangreetings.com instead of http://xx.xx.xx.xx/somethinglonghere.

--The "reply-to" address goes back to some unknown server, NOT AmericanGreetings.com. The "reply-to" address is very easily spoofed, but email readers should be cognizant of any mismatches between the apparent sender address and the "reply-to" destination.

--The phrase "If you wish to keep the ecard longer, you may save it on your computer or take a print." is very poor English. A reputable company will not use poor grammar such as "take a print."

Remember, just a little bit of common sense can keep you virus-free!

** An example of the unsolicited email follows. I have taken the liberty of replacing the malicious IP address with an innocuous IP address that will connect to your own router if you have one. **

> Subject: You've received a postcard from a family member!
> Date: Sat, 30 Jun 2007 01:08:18 +0530
>
>
> Good day.
>
> Your family member has sent you an ecard from
americangreetings.com.
>
> Send free ecards from americangreetings.com with your choice
of colors, words and music.
>
> Your ecard will be available with us for the next 30 days. If
you wish to keep
> the ecard longer, you may save it on your computer or take a
print.
>
> To view your ecard, choose from any of the following options:
>
> --------
> OPTION 1
> --------
>
> Click on the following Internet address or
> copy & paste it into your browser's address box.
>
> http://192.168.1.1/?b848ca9a885b5e6291c3de8293ec696
>
> --------
> OPTION 2
> --------
>
> Copy & paste the ecard number in the "View Your Card" box at
> http://192.168.1.1/
>
> Your ecard number is
> b848ca9a885b5e6291c3de8293ec696
>
> Best wishes,
> Postmaster,

Published by G. Keith Evans

Born in the mountains of East Tennessee, G. Keith Evans now pursues the ideals of Responsible Liberal Journalism from his office outside of Orlando, FL. His book, Appearances: The Art of Class, can be purcha...  View profile

14 Comments

Post a Comment
  • Hairy Mary8/10/2007

    The virus is also known as W32.Nuwar.GU worm, and basically spreads itself by rummaging through certain files on the filesystem looking for email addresses, and then sending a short email to all of these addresses. nasty little sucker. The description in the earlier comment about how to remove it seems to work. Again, like others not on Windows machines, I laugh.

  • cookie8/2/2007

    I stupidly copied and pasted the link. a page opened with a pop up download box for the ecard. Instead of clicking open I clicked cancel. Did I download the virus anyway?

  • Bill Gates7/27/2007

    I have a Mac so I just laff this one off.

  • Frank7/27/2007

    Found this, found a way to remove it. Here is goes.

    1. Disable System Restore

    2. Boot into safe mode (possibly didn't try doing it without)

    3. Once in safe mode go to device manager (in system properties)

    4. Click view and 'Show Hidden Devices'

    5. Find the device under 'non plug and play devices' that looks suspicious, i've seen variants that start Windev - fourrandom characters - fourrandomcharacters, and some that start vdo - somethings - something

    6. Uninstall this device

    7. Browse to your C:windowssystem32 directory and find the file name that corresponds to the device that was shown in device manager and delete it

    8. Search the registry for that same string, and delete all references, there hsould be one in current config, and somewhere else I believe,


    THis process worked for me, hopefully it will work for other people

  • Dave North7/24/2007

    Hey...I received one of these today and decided...what the heck...I downloaded to my smartphone (Dash phone)..The file size is 95.2 KB and will not execute under Windows mobile OS I have..Just thought I'd share..
    If you are going to click links, don't do it a computer you can't afford to rebuild..

  • Sammy Reed7/7/2007

    What happens to your computer if you open the file?

  • Jim Stillman7/7/2007

    This is an excellent warning. I, too, have been bombarded. The Snopes article is very helpful, also. I always check this site first and recommend everyone's subscribing to the Snopes newsletter.
    http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/postcard.asp

  • Chris M. Carmichael7/4/2007

    I've been getting a lot of these lately. Great article

  • rebekah o'neal7/4/2007

    haven't gotten any yet, i don't think...but it wouldn't make it through my filter, so i'm safe. although it does make me wish i had a mac a little more, lol

  • Donna Porter7/4/2007

    I received one from 123Greetings.com - I almost clicked on it as I'd just sent a greeting from there an hour previous. Good info for everyone!

Displaying Comments
Next »

To comment, please sign in to your Yahoo! account, or sign up for a new account.