"I recently saw your resume online and feel you would be ideal for an immediate opening as an Account Executive with our company."
When you click on the link to apply, it asks you to fill in all this specific information about yourself. Demographics. After you fill in your information (ahem...resume) and submit, they say that they'll get back to you soon after reviewing the resume.
I have been receiving these emails for over 5 years now, all from "Different" companies claiming that they recently saw my resume online and feel I would be PERFECT for the job.
My first year in college I would apply to each one of these emails and fill out my "application." It seemed legit to me, simple email, simple company, simple application. After all, if it was a scam, what are they getting out of it?
It came to me the other day! They're collecting your email, demographics, address, etc. and selling it as leads to other companies. So, basically, fill this crap out and receive even more spectacular gifts from the Spam fairy.
I'm not positive this is what's going on, in fact, I don't have a clue. All I know is the same kind of email comes to me, with the same kind of "offer" and I have never and I mean never gotten a response back.
This is a scam folks, take my word for it...You would be surprised how real they make it look too! For example, this is the most recent message I got:
http://www.eventsbychristie.com/careers/opportunities.cfm
Looks real, right? Ok, sure sucker, apply. You won't get a response, and if you do it will be a scam guaranteed.
I wanted to just let you guys know not to waste your time, not to waste the paper they'll use sending you junk mail and to be aware of this scam. I wish I had saved my emails throughout the years so I could send you details of every one, and tell you not to respond. But, I could only find a few emails like this that I hadn't deleted yet.
Here they are!
http://www.amateurpokertourusa.com
http://www.nationalhumanresources.com/job.cfm?E=15046&J=11093
I may have initially filled out my information at this Admin solutions website, and they are selling my email...I don't know! All I know is WATCH OUT for THIS website more than any of them!!
http://www.adminsolutionsgroup.net
Published by Nikki Freeman
Freelance Writer, Graphic Designer, Web Designer. My first passion was writing, my second Art, my third singing/songwriting/music/my guitar, fourth technology. Put them all together and somehow they manage t... View profile
- Beware of Email Scams like These!Scams happen every day in america and many fall victim, sometimes, loosing their entire life savings. Beware of these scams. I have included correspondences for others to become aware.
- Posting Your Resume Online - How to Avoid Potential ScamsBe cautious when receiving solicitation calls from random employers regarding your online resume.
- How to Get Out of an Internet ScamWhen you have been conned by someone who offers a product or service for sale on the Internet and then never delivers it, what's the best and easiest way to get your money back?
- Signs of An Internet ScamScams saturate the internet these days. Carefulness will not always protect you from deception; however, knowing what to look for and what to avoid can steer you clear of an internet swindle.
Freecreditreport.Com Is the Biggest Internet SCAM and TV Commercial Rip-...So far this internet company has been faced with over 1.25 million dollars in class action lawsuits and over 2,600 complaints from members.
- Why You Shouldn't Post Your Resume Online: New Internet Scam
- Woman Involved in the Nigerian Internet Scam Gets Busted
- Email Scams: Six Email Messages You Do Not Want to Click
- Number of Spam Emails on the Rise
- How to Detect an Email - Internet Scam
- MS Antivirus 2008 Security Center Spyware Removal is the Greatest Internet Scam in...
- Before You Post Your Resume Online: Things You Should Know
- Email Scams can waste a lot of time and money
- Account Executive job offers are almost always a scam


2 Comments
Post a CommentHI have gotten many email also regarding job opportunities and have noticed that in the link to eventsbychristy they spelled the website wrong.
It should have been eventsbychristie with an ie at the end. My link didn't work so I decided to investigate the company and came up with this website. Seems hokey if the website address is wrong!
http://www.dynamoo.com/diary/alec-defrawy-july-07.htm
This website contains a list of domain names that fraudulent job offers are sent from. I came across it - and your page - as I was researching whether or not 'eventsbychristie' was legit or not.